Texas Genealogy & History
"...the people of Texas do now constitute a free, Sovereign, and independent republic..."
- from the Texas Declaration of Independence, 2 March 1836
At least thirty-two counties that were established by Texas law no longer exist.

Buchanan, 1858, became  Stephens in 1861
Cass renamed Davis in 1861, became Cass again in 1871
Encinal was absorbed by Webb
Original Dawson abolished and absorbed by Kinney in 1866
Navasota became Brazos in 1842
Greer County became five Oklahoma Counties in 1906.

Read more about it at:

Buchanan County
Buchanan County was created in January 1858 from Bosque County.
It was named for President James Buchanan.  In 1861, the name  changed to Stephens County.
Read more about it at:

Buchel County
Buchel County, along with Foley, & Jeff Davis County were formed out of Presidio County
on 15 March 1887.  In March of 1889, a legislative act passed attaching the county to
Brewster County. Although the then governor did not sign it into law, in 1897, Buchel County
was abolished.
Read more about it at:

Cibilo County
Cibilo County was a county from 1869 through 1874.  Changed back to Wilson County.

Davis County
This county, named in honor of Jefferson Davis, existed between 1861 & 1871.
Originally it was named Cass County (for a Michigan Senator), & changed back to it's
original name in may 1871
Read more about it at:

Dawson County
Created 01 February 1858 from Bexar Land District
Read more about it at:

Encinal County
Established early 1856 & was to have the town of Encinal as it's county seat.
However the area never organized & was incorporated into Webb County in mid March 1899
Read more about it at:

Foley County
Created in March 1887 out of Presidio County
Read more about it at:

Greer County
1860-1896 from Indian Territory
County Seat:  Mangum
Current site:  http://www.rootsweb.com/~txgreer/
Mail List:  http://lists.rootsweb.com/index/usa/TX/greer.html
Read more about it at:

Harrisburg County
Established in 1836. In 1839 the name was changed to Harris County
Read more about it at:

La Baca County
Early January 1842 the Sixth Congress passed a joint resolution to organize this county.
On 12 January 1842, President Sam Houston vetoed the resolution
Halletsville would have been the county seat

Miller County

1820 through 1836
Created April 1820,named for James Miller (governor of Arkansas) included most of what
is now Miller County, Arkansas, & Texas counties of
Bowie, Cass, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Morris, Red River, & Titus.
Current Arkansas site: http://www.argenweb.net/miller/
Read more about it at:

Navasota County
Created January 1841 from Washington & Robertson Counties, the name changed to Brazos County in 1842
Read more about it at:

Neches County

Established for judicial purposes on 29 January 1841.
It would have included what is now Orange County, Jasper & Newton counties.
Madison would have been the county seat

Paschal County

Established for judicial purposes on 28 January 1841.  Included the future counties of:
Cass, Franklin, Hopkins, Marion, Morris, & Titus counties.
The county seat was to be named Dangerfield.

Spring Creek County

Established for judicial purposes on 21 January 1841--included parts of the future:
Grimes, Harris, & Montgomery counties. The county was named for the creek that
ran through the center of it-- the county seat was to be named Greenville.

Waco County

Established for judicial purposes on 29 January 1842--included the now Falls County.
Viesca was named the county seat.

Wegefarth County

One of 5 counties authorized by the legislature in 1873, but never organized
Read more about it at:

You are

visitor since 01 JUL 2006