The TXGenWeb

Texas Genealogy & History
"...the people of Texas do now constitute a free, Sovereign, and independent republic..."

- from the Texas Declaration of Independence, 2 March 1836

TXGenWeb Counties - B 

The French explorer La Salle established Fort St. Louis in the Matagorda Bay area in 1685.

County Date
Parent County County Seat Contact
Bailey 1876 Bexar Muleshoe Linda Simpson
Bandera 1856 Uvalde, Bexar Bandera Donna Schulte Loth
Bastrop 1836 Old Mexican Municipality Bastrop Tammy New
Baylor 1858 Fannin Seymour
Bee 1857 Goliad, Refugio,
Live Oak, San Patricio
Beeville Shirley Cullum
Bell 1850 Milam Belton Joe Deaver
Bexar 1836 Old Mexican Municipality San Antonio Jimmy Epperson
Blanco 1858 Gillespie, Comal, Burnet, Hays Johnson City Shirley Cullum
Borden 1876 Bexar Gail Norman Newton
Bosque 1854 McLennan, Milam Meridian Gayle Triller
Bowie 1840 Red River New Boston Jane Colmenares
Brazoria 1836 Old Mexican Municipality Angleton Linda Simpson
Brazos 1841 Washington, Robertson Bryan Trey Holt
Brazos Genealogical
Brewster 1887 Presidio Alpine Jane Colmenares
Briscoe 1876 Bexar Silverton Gina Heffernan
Brooks 1911 Starr, Zapata, Hidalgo Falfurrias Shirley Cullum
Brown 1856 Travis, Comanche Brownwood Suzanne Monroe
Buchanan **History** Name Changed to Stephens 1861 **** ****
Buchel **History** Never Organized **** ****
Burleson 1846 Milam, Washington Caldwell Gayle Triller
Burnet 1852 Travis, Bell, Williamson Burnet JoAnn Myers
Burnet TX

Return to Texas County Index

Return to TXGenWeb Page

You may notice a message beside the county listing indicating it is available for adoption. This means that we are looking for someone to take it over on a permanent basis. If you would like to adopt a web page for one of these counties, please contact Shirley Cullum , State Coordinator.  The assistant state coordinators are Carla Clifton and Jane Keppler.

Page Design by: Kimm Antell
Graphic Design by: Terri Brown

Copyright 1996 - 2019 The TXGenWeb Project
All Rights Reserved. Limited use rights may be granted by written or electronic permission.