The TXGenWeb

Texas Genealogy & History
"...the people of Texas do now constitute a free, Sovereign, and independent republic..."

- from the Texas Declaration of Independence, 2 March 1836

TXGenWeb Counties - L 

On March 3, 1836 59 men meeting in convention in a rented building at

Washington on the Brazos signed the Texas Declaration of Independence.

County Date
Parent County County Seat Contact
La Salle 1858 Bexar, Webb Cotulla Tom Graham
La Baca History Never Organized **** ****
Lamar 1840 Red River Paris Betsy Mills
Lamb 1876 Bexar Littlefield Helen McKnight
Lampasas 1856 Bell, Travis Lampasas Mary Ann Hetrick
Lavaca 1846 Colorado, Victoria, 
Jackson, Gonzales
Hallettsville Regena Williamson
Lee 1874 Bastrop, Burleson, 
Washington, Fayette
Giddings Jane Keppler
Leon 1846 Robertson Centerville Cheryl Burks
Liberty 1836 Old Spanish Municipality Liberty Carla & Billy Clifton
Limestone 1846 Robertson Groesbeck Cheryl Burks
Lipscomb 1876 Bexar Lipscomb LaRae Halsey-Brooks
Eireann Brooks
Live Oak 1856 Nueces, San Patricio George West Vanessa Burzynski
Llano 1856 Bexar Llano Debra Coursey-Pitts
D J Pitts
Loving 1887 Tom Green Mentone Debra Coursey-Pitts
Lubbock 1876 Bexar, Crosby Lubbock Jane Colmenares
Lynn 1876 Bexar Tahoka Jimmy Epperson

Return to Texas County Index

Return to TXGenWeb Page

You may notice a message beside the county listing indicating it is available for adoption. This means that we are looking for someone to take it over on a permanent basis. If you would like to adopt a web page for one of these counties, please contact Shirley Cullum , State Coordinator.  The assistant state coordinators are Carla Clifton and Jane Keppler.

Page Design by: Kimm Antell
Graphic Design by: Terri Brown

Copyright 1996 - 2019 The TXGenWeb Project
All Rights Reserved. Limited use rights may be granted by written or electronic permission.